Making up for the Practical Magic Blog Party!

All right, this is me making up for missing the boat on the Practical Magic party! (I know I mentioned some other ideas than what’s here but they are still being mulled over. They may show up at some point or I might save them for next year’s party. J)

Magickal Lemon Pancakes

This is my absolute favorite pancake recipe, from Joy of Cooking.

Prepare and preheat your griddle
Whisk together in a large bowl:
1 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Whisk together in another bowl:
3/4 cup sour cream
1/3 cup milk
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
3 tablespoons unsalted butter melted
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry and gently whisk them together, mixing until just combined. Fold in: finely grated zest of 2 lemons
The batter will be thick and bubbly similar to cake batter. Spoon 1/4 cup batter onto the griddle for each pancake nudging the batter into rounds (or cacti!) Cook until the top is speckled with bubbles and some have popped, then turn and cook until underside is lightly browned. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 oven.

Magickal Lemon Syrup

Rather than sending people away as the syrup was intended to do in the movie, this tasty citrus syrup encourages friendship. The lemon brings friends closer together, the butter banishes hostility and sugar for a little extra sweetness between you!

1 c. sugar
2 Tbsp corn starch
1-1/2 c. hot water
1/2 c. lemon juice
1/4 c. butter, softened
Zest of one lemon

In a small pan over medium heat, combine sugar, cornstarch, hot water, and lemon juice. Bring to a gentle boil. Add butter and lemon rind, stirring until dissolved.


5 thoughts on “Making up for the Practical Magic Blog Party!

  1. Awesome! Just one thing: I don’t like sour cream that much. Can I substitute something else? or may I leave it out altogether?

    And your take on the Magickal Lemon Syrup is fantastic! Can’t wait to try it. For the syrup how long is the cooking time after if boils?

    1. Honestly, the sour cream kind of makes the recipe. You could probably replace it with Greek yogurt if you really wanted to but you don’t taste the taste of the sour cream so much as the way it makes the batter really smooth and flavorful.

      I haven’t had a chance to make the syrup yet myself but from past experience with these sorts of recipes… it shouldn’t take long. The butter will melt in a minute or so and it will depend on how finely you grate the rind as to how long it will take. 🙂

  2. Thanks. I don’t like yogurt either. How about heavy cream? It should also make the batter smooth. If not, then I’ll dive in with the sour cream.

    Also, because of your leadership in Practical Magick tips/living, I’ve decided to start a BOS of recipes with food correspondences just like you included in your recipe. This will be the first recipe. Thank you again.

    Blessed Be!

    P.S.: I found a YouTube Vlog by Wiccand13 where he shows the blank BOS that he just acquired. He intends on replicating the Practical Magic BOS. I drool over that Book of Shadows.

    Anyway, the book Wiccand13 has is pretty nifty. It’s leather bound with three ribbon page markers and is in two connected parts. The first book has 300 pages and the second has 150 pages. He states that he has the images for the Practical Magic BOS but cannot share/sell them due to copyright laws. I’m very curious to see the final result.

    1. Yeah… I don’t think cream would be quite thick enough. You’re best off with the sour cream. 🙂

      Aw, that’s so sweet – glad I could be an inspiration! If you need any ideas or recipes, let me know.

      I do love that book – sounds neat!

Leave a comment