Simple Full Moon Ritual

I am posting this a few days early so that if anyone wants to use or adapt it, they have time to do so. Although there is some debate on whether Esbats are strictly full moon celebrations or should include other phases as well, I like to keep mine to the full moon only. It speaks to me personally much more than the new moon. There’s just something about the way it glows and shimmers that is absolutely magickal – but I think all witches probably feel the same way.

As I have probably mentioned, I am not much for a lot of ceremony, (although there are certainly exceptions), and that is most obvious in my rituals. I like to keep things simple; it feels more honest and real that way. So here is my personal full moon ritual, concise and to the point, just as it is written in my Book of Shadows:

Sit skyclad in view of the full moon, if possible. I like to do rituals skyclad when I can because it feels more raw and out of the ordinary – so maybe I like a little bit of ceremony. 😛

Light a white candle and align with the moon. Focus on it, absorbing the energy. The meditation portion can be just a few minutes or half the night. It really depends on what’s going on in your life and what you’re sorting through. Full moon rituals are for your soul what dreams are for your brain – they help us get through whatever’s weighing on us and start fresh.

Take a bite of dark chocolate and a sip of tea from a white mug, alternating until gone. I favor Dagoba’s Lavender Blueberry Dark Chocolate for several reasons – first of all, it is slave-free which is especially appropriate for a ritual, (admittedly, while I am a compassionate person, I usually go for a cheap Hershey’s bar but the positive energy is more than worth $3/bar for special occasions), and second of all, the flavor is really unique so it seems all the more special. As for the tea, I like to drink something moon-related such as Pomegranate, Jasmine or Rose.

If I plan to do any magick, I do it between finishing the food and blowing out the candle, partly because I’m still going to need the candlelight to see by and partly because magick is very much a part of ritual and vice versa.

Blow out the candle. Although it’s a simple act, this is actually one of the most powerful parts of the ritual because it is the only formal ending.

Blessed Be. These are the only spoken words in the ritual and sometimes I actually just think it really loudly. Silence to me is one of the most powerful ways of centering myself. Chanting and poetry are great but sometimes hearing nothing but your own thoughts is so much more enlightening.

Have a happy full moon!


16 thoughts on “Simple Full Moon Ritual

  1. I love waffles and I always wanted to be able to make my own waffles.
    When it comes to any kind of cookware or kitchen appliance, Wolfgang Puck remains to be at the top of the game.
    For scrambled eggs, add the eggs to the pie iron and close, holding over the campfire until eggs
    are done.

  2. If you think it’s your duty as a responsible adult world citizen to do something about the adversities of oil abuse going on, switching to biodegradable lubricants will definitely be a notable step towards going green. Making certain the spring rests against the brush, replace the spring as delicately as you moved it aside. When purchasing this product, make sure that you search for the running horsepower instead of the peak horsepower at startup.

  3. Today, there are two popular choices in grilling namely gas grills and charcoal
    grills. Each grill comes with a slightly different pan, but in
    general they are similar. Naturally propane gas is
    used for cooking and these grills are ideal if you want food cooked quickly while keeping that great grilled taste.

  4. The admirers of these grills say that the grills’ extremely even heating and very powerful infrared sear burner makes them the best. Each grill comes with a slightly different pan, but in general they are similar. The Weber Performance Grill sells for around $300-$350, but consumer after consumer state it is more than worth the price in durability, quality and ease of operation.

  5. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with valuable information
    to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire community will be
    grateful to you.

  6. Overall benefits of this treatment can’t be forgotten. This researched, step
    by step solution is simple to learn and posseses an exceptionally high success rate.
    Exercising enables you to maintain your weight in order.

  7. Your daily diet was most likely the explanation for your diabetes.
    Therefore whatever technology is there is yet to be revealed, reviewed
    and shown. Waiting is the reason people lose their bodies to this
    infection.

  8. This is a historical shooting which will be created from download gta cheats’ makers.
    These are only a few of the options open to
    you. It was needed by people, and so they just required it.

  9. Următorul lucru , veți acționa nechibzuit și care au o mare de timp la fel ca toți ceilalți .
    Cluburile de striptease au mai multe reguli nescrise , care trebuie să fie adoptate de către fiecare persoană cu orice preț .

  10. Thank you for another great article. Where else could anyone get that type of information in such an ideal
    way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the
    look for such information.

Leave a comment