The Bewitching Home Blog Party: Winter Redux Edition

It’s finally here! Not just my favorite Sabbat, Imbolc, but The Bewitching Home Blog Party: TThe Bewitching Home Blog Party: Winter Reduxhe Winter Redux! I want to thank everyone for joining us for a second round of domestic bliss, disasters and ideas. It’s going to be a blast! I am putting this post up early for anyone in other time zones or who needs to get their own post up earlier than expected.

 

For those of you participating with a post of your own, here’s a quick review of the rules:

 

  1. Put up a fabulous blog post! The only limits are your imagination and that it must be somehow domestic-related (food, decorating, entertaining, how to get candle wax off tables, etc.)
  2. Leave a comment on THIS POST with a link to your actual party post (please be sure the link is to the blog post itself, not just your blog home page.)
  3. Blog hop to all of the awesome parties and leave comments wherever you can to let everyone know they’re loved!

 

Now, on to my own Bewitching Home blog post…

 

I thought long and hard on what to write about today. I’ve often said that Imbolc is one of my favorite Sabbats, and it is, but it can be a hard one to put your finger on. The message isn’t as clear as it is with some Sabbats nor is the look and atmosphere as defined.

That being said, when I think of Imbolc, I see clean, white, January snow, flickering candles and twinkling white lights. I see late afternoon tea parties and leisurely baths.

 

Finally, I decided to go with a recipe for bread. Bread is often associated with Imbolc for a number of reasons;

I like to think it’s because it’s the simplest of meals and Imbolc is really all about simplicity and fresh starts.

 

Pair this recipe with a cold glass of milk and a bit of herb-infused butter for the perfect Imbolc snack!

Rosemary Sea Salt Bread

 

1 cup milkRosemary Sea Salt Bread by The Witch of Howling Creek
1 tbsp butter
3 cups bread flour
1 tbsp sugar

½ tsp salt
1 ½ tsp active dry yeast
2 tsp dried rosemary, chopped fine
Sea salt, to taste

 

Combine first seven ingredients in a bread machine according to manufacturer’s instructions. Select dough cycle.

 

Drop finished dough onto a lightly floured surface. Punch dough down several times, then flatten into a rectangular shape.

 

Roll dough up like a jelly roll and place in a greased loaf pan. Cut a slit in the top of the dough about ½ inch deep. Cover dough with a damp towel and place in a warm, dry place to rise for one hour.

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Remove towel from dough and sprinkle lightly with olive oil and sea salt. Bake for 30 minutes.

Enhanced by Zemanta
15 thoughts on “The Bewitching Home Blog Party: Winter Redux Edition

  1. I have not seen Imbolc mentioned as a favorite Sabbat until today! I’m happy someone has it as a favorite. I, myself, have never been able to form a real connection to it over and above the fact that I don’t feel right if I don’t acknowledge it at least. I like your idea, though. White January snow, twinkling lights, candles and leisurely baths. I get that. 🙂

    1. You know, it’s funny, because I love the Sabbats I get to really decorate for and bake for, etc etc, but there’s something so special about Imbolc. It’s so romantic to me. And I’m glad to be able to share what I love about it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

