Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory

There is a short period at the flower shop between the jolliness of the holidays and the girly cheer of Valentine’s Day: inventory. At the start of January, we have to count every last item in the store to report for our taxes and, no, it is not at all fun. It’s time-consuming and tedious, in fact.
But! When it’s all over with, it’s actually a great feeling to know that everything in the shop is in its place and we can get a fresh start. So, I thought I’d do a quick inventory of my own, an inventory of the few magickal and ritual items I use regularly.

Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory by The Witch of Howling Creek

5 white pillar candles: I typically only use one at a time but every now and then I set them up as a circle. I like to use white because it can stand in for any color so I get to save a bit of money and always have what I need on hand.

Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory by The Witch of Howling Creek

Sachets: Charm bags are really about the only magick I do often so I like to have a few sachets of various colors in easy reach.

Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory by The Witch of Howling Creek

Mercury glass votive holders: I have always loved mercury glass in any form but it works particularly well as a votive holder. There is something incredibly magickal about the way mercury glass throws light, especially the flickering light of a candle flame. These are less magickal than they are meditative.

Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory by The Witch of Howling Creek

Tree silhouette vases: These were a Christmas present from my mom this year and although I haven’t yet decided what I’m going to put in them, they just seem fitting for some magickal purpose.

Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory by The Witch of Howling Creek

Books: Perhaps my most important magickal tool, I try to buy myself a new book every few months. This is a selection of my favorites!

As you can see, I’m a very laidback witch when it comes to supplies. I don’t really keep an altar, just a collection of candles on my dresser. I’m always saying I prefer the term “kitchen witch” but looking at my inventory, I think perhaps “cottage witch” is more accurate. If there was such a thing as a “candle witch,” that’d be me!

What magickal or ritual items do you like to have on hand, readers?

3 thoughts on “Taking Magickal Stock: Ritual Inventory

  1. Apart from whisky… :-p Books, notebooks, salt, herbs, candles and my bedside table draws full of “stuff” things like a cake topper from when I was five, or a pendant from and old necklace, cinnamon quills, river rocks, bird feathers, acorns, hair clippings, wool, clay beads, charcoal, essential oils, nail clippings….

    Stuff that would be junk if it didn’t have a purpose.

Leave a Reply

