Tomato-Basil Heaven

So I FINALLY got the tomatoes planted this afternoon – one ‘Early Girl’ and one ‘Green Zebra’ (it’s green with yellow stripes!) I actually wanted to get a purple variety but the only one the nursery had was more red than anything else so I went with the Zebra instead. I also picked up some purple and pink salvia and some petunias, plus a little basil plant. It’s my favorite herb but I kill it every year without fail so, fingers crossed!

There’s just something about fresh tomatoes with fresh basil that make for the perfect summer snack (plus, the combination is a lovely magickal boost of protection, love and good cheer.) It’s just one of those simple, perfect matches that needs little addition; bearing that in mind, consider serving tomatoes and basil for an intimate summer evening for two to help make your match perfect as well.

There are, of course, plenty of ways to serve tomatoes and basil but when I was in Venice last year, I stumbled on a wonderful little restaurant called Al Calesse where they serve the most incredible bruschetta I’ve ever tasted. Although I didn’t ask for the recipe, here’s my interpretation:

Ingredients

1 cup tomatoes, mixed cherry, pear and other mini varieties
3 slices crunchy French bread
Fresh basil, finely chopped
Olive oil, to taste
Sea salt, to taste

1. Rinse and slice the tomatoes in half. Toss with olive oil, sea salt and fresh basil.

2. Place the bread on a plate and drizzle liberally with olive oil. Grill or broil just until golden brown on one side.

3. Top the warm bread with the tomato mixture.

2 thoughts on “Tomato-Basil Heaven

  1. Sounds delicious. I looked up a picture of the ‘green zebra’ tomatoes, they look so cool! But it would take getting used to eating them (since under ripe regular tomatoes are green). And if you planted them on the 11th, then you planted them in a water sign, which should promote the basil’s growth.

Leave a Reply

