Strawberry Full Moon Ritual

So, I have not been a very good witch lately, at least on my own terms: it has been at least a couple of months since I’ve done a really good full moon ritual (glancing out the window and going “oh, that’s right, it’s full” does not suffice.) Being that finals are over and the Summer issue of Pagan Living is out, and I can therefore think again, it’s perfect timing that one of my favorite full moons is tomorrow: June’s Strawberry Moon.

Isn’t that a fabulous name for a full moon? It’s so cheerful and sweet, reminds me of going out into my grandmother’s garden to pick fresh strawberries for my breakfast waffles during summer stays at her house when I was small.

Unfortunately, the forecast calls for rain tomorrow (normally I would be ecstatic for a break from the 90+ temperatures but it just had to coincide with the full moon) so there’s a good chance I won’t even be able to see it. But for those of you with clear skies, I’ve whipped up a little strawberry-flavored adaptation to my Full Moon Ritual:

Sit skyclad, in view of the full moon if possible.

Light a white candle and place it so you can see the flame and the moon without having to look away. Focus on their light, absorbing the energy.

Take a bite of a large, fresh strawberry and a sip of tea from a white mug, alternating until gone.

Creativity Boost Spell

Crush a small handful of freeze-dried strawberries into a fine powder with a mortar and pestle. Anoint the white candle with oil, then rub a small amount of the powder into it, allowing the candle to burn while you work. Then mix the rest of the strawberry powder into a tool of your creative trade. For example, if you wish to get more creative in the kitchen, consider flavoring olive oil with it or if you want to boost your creativity in the art studio, stir it into red paint for use on your next project.

Blow out the candle.

Blessed Be.

 

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Full Moon Ritual

Leave a Reply

