An Ostara Ritual

Those of you that read Pagan Living have already seen my Ostara ritual in the “Blessings from the Garden of __________” article but for those of you that aren’t yet followers of the magazine, here it is again! (I’m going to town today to pick up a new little pot and a packet of seeds – I’ll try to keep you all apprised of the progress. :D)

Ostara Ritual

Light a white or pastel candle, in view of the rising sun, if possible.
Handwrite a blessing for growth and beginnings, placing it in the bottom of a small pot. Gently scoop soil over the blessing. Press three seeds into the soil and
sprinkle with moonwater.
Take a bite of a Hot Cross Bun and a sip of tea, alternating until gone. (For pagans, the Greek or equal-armed cross on top of the buns symbolizes the balance of night and day on Ostara.)
Blow out the candle.
Blessed Be.

 

7 thoughts on “An Ostara Ritual

  1. Blessed Spring Equinox! By the way, I love your magazine! It’s so colorful and there are some amazing ideas in it. Next year, I definitely want to try making those eggs with the tea-dyed writing, but I think I’ll use wooden eggs so they can be burnable offerings!

  2. love this. rituals are so important to our modern lives. thank you for the post.
    sophie
    princessrhyme.blogspot.com

  3. Hello! I am quite a busy girl and love this ritual. I was hoping to find a short but beautiful ritual that allows me to share my passion and love of Pagan celebrations on Ostara and this fits the bill! I am new to the blogging world and I am so glad that I found yours.

    1. I’m so glad you found something that works for you! Most of my rituals are simple like this one and there’s at least one posted for most of the Sabbats so hopefully you’ll have a nice little stash for the rest of the year. 😛

Leave a Reply

