I’ve Been Tagged!

I’ve been tagged by Natalie at Bridget’s Daughter!

The rules are:
1. Post the rules.
2. You must post 11 random things about yourself.
3. Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post.
4. Create 11 new questions for the people you tag to answer.
5. Go to their blog and tell them that you tagged them.
6. No stuff in the tagging section about “you are tagged if you are reading this.” You have to legitimately have to tag 11 people.

11 Random Things About Me
1. I raised pigs as a kid and will launch into a rant about how misunderstood they are at any given moment. (My friends understand this.)
2. I teach art to elementary students, to whom I try to impart a little worldly knowledge of the past and other spiritualities, despite being in a deeply Christian setting.
3. I firmly believe Thomas Jefferson was the greatest mind with a hand in the shaping of our country, despite the tendency to malign him for his internal conflicts.
4. Most people consider me an old soul, if only because my car is full of jazz CDs, my bureau is topped with various vintage hats and statuesque ’30s gowns are run-of-the-mill in my closet.
5. Family heirlooms are precious to me and I know much of my family history, especially as it is connected to San Francisco and, further back, Europe.
6. If urban legend is to be believed, Pocahontas and John Smith were the parents of one of my ancestors.
7. The concept of having my very own newspaper subscription makes me quite giddy.
8. Some of my favorite paintings and pieces of artwork are un- or little-knowns, like the one at the top of this page (well, it’s in the Musee d’Orsay but it’s not as though its by Monet or anything.)
9. I am at least as at home in London as I am here in California.
10. I love books, tv shows and movies (especially shows) that make me think outside the box, like Fringe and Doctor Who.
11. I dye my hair red because, despite my typical belief that God/Mother Nature/whatnot do not make mistakes, I was supposed to be a redhead, not a dishwater blond.

11 Questions from Natalie

1. What is your favorite book? Ohh, that is such an impossible question. I love Mickey Spillane’s pulp, Christopher Moore’s wit, C.S. Lewis’ ingenuity. But if we’re talking the one book that has stuck by me forever and will always have a special place on my bookshelf? Miss Rumphius. Yes, a children’s book, but a children’s book with dreamy illustrations and a message to live by.

2. Of all your hopes/dreams for yourself, which scares you the most? Fear of failure or fear you won’t ever do anything but dream? Failure to become something. Or, in the words of Miss Rumphius, failure to do one thing to make the world more beautiful. I tend to make what I want happen but when I don’t succeed, I get sort of crumbly around the edges.

3. What brings you joy? Beautiful things. I love rain, I love mid-century jazz, I love moonlight, I love feathers, I love Mademoiselle Carlier, I love Van Gogh and his scruffy beard, I love sequins, I love soft fur, I love stamped passports and I love a cat stretching in the sun.

4. If money wasn’t an issue what one thing would you buy for yourself, no houses, something personal. Hmm. A plane ticket. A one-way plane ticket to somewhere pointed to on a spinning globe, maybe Cairo or Elizabethtown or Loch Ness, somewhere I could sip tea or champagne and people-watch.

5. What do you do when life stresses you out? …be grouchy to the people I love and guzzle even more tea than usual?

6. How do you celebrate when good things happen? Call my best friend and go out to dinner, preferably for sushi or duck or something equally fabulous.

7. What do you do in your alone time? Plan. I always have to be planning something and that’s when I’m happiest. And drink tea. Lots of tea.

8. What do you do to honor yourself? Rituals, buy yourself something? I really love to eat, to be honest. A really good meal puts me in my happy place.

9. What are you doing right now to make your dreams come true? How are you working towards those goals? Telling myself the classes I’m currently snoozing through are getting me to the classes I really want to be taking.

10. How do you give back to humanity? What actions do you do regularly? If you don’t what could you do? I volunteer my time to the elementary school previously mentioned and have for many years. Loving those kids is an easy way to give back.

11. What do you do that’s green? Recycle? Drive a small car? *wince* Um… recycle, I suppose. I’m not super-duper about it though. I guess you could say I buy local whenever possible, does that count?

11 Questions from Me to You

1. What one piece of art has moved you more than any other?
2. If you could zip off to anywhere in the world, where would you go?
3. What ingredient do you most love to cook with?
4. How do you satisfy your sweet tooth?
5. What relative or ancestor have you found most fascinating and why?
6. What does your dream house look and feel like?
7. What are your favorite flowers to receive?
8. How do you connect to nature?
9. Which time period do you feel a calling to? Do you think you could have a past life there?
10. What is the most extravagant thing you’ve ever bought for yourself?
11. Name the first word or image that comes to mind.

Tagged Bloggers
The Ditzy Druid
Earthmother195
Rose Ribbon
Moments in an Eye
Searching for My Goddess
Amaranthine
Pagan Culture
Rue and Hyssop
Pentacle Press

9 thoughts on “I’ve Been Tagged!

  1. This looks like a great way to get to know your community, but alas, I don’t know 11 people well enough to really do this. I’m more of a silent stalker/get stalked type of blogger 😛 buuut….

    1. What one piece of art has moved you more than any other?
    I could never name just one.
    2. If you could zip off to anywhere in the world, where would you go?
    Stonehenge.
    3. What ingredient do you most love to cook with?
    Sage, honey, garlic, quinoa…
    4. How do you satisfy your sweet tooth?
    Honey!
    5. What relative or ancestor have you found most fascinating and why?
    Rembrandt Van Rijn was my greatgreatgreat(etc..) uncle. I always thought that was incredible — just a little sad he never passed me down his skills 🙂
    6. What does your dream house look and feel like?
    A country home with lots of wood, a huge garden, wood fireplace, giant soaker tub, a kitchen I’d never leave.
    7. What are your favorite flowers to receive?
    The potted kinds.
    8. How do you connect to nature?
    Growing herbs, cooking organically, spending as much time in the woods as I can.
    9. Which time period do you feel a calling to? Do you think you could have a past life there?
    There are reasons I’d want to visit almost every time period. I try not to romanticize them too much, though. Living in Celtic UK sounds good in theory, but really.. it was probably miserable.
    10. What is the most extravagant thing you’ve ever bought for yourself?
    I’m just starting to make money now, so nothing really yet. I did spend $150 on my book of shadows, which was extravagant at the time.
    11. Name the first word or image that comes to mind.
    A cup of Earl Grey tea.. mmm, sounds perfect!

Leave a Reply

