Practical Magic Blog Party

Oh my god, I missed it!!! *bangs head against wall* Somehow I managed to write it down (in more than one place even) as October. No idea how I did that. Honestly, I had a really neat post planned that was either going to be about Practical Magic inspired Book of Shadows pages or a collection of ‘practical magick’ tips. With some stroke of witchy luck, though, I happened to actually have at least watched it just today (twice. *sheepish*)

There is something about this movie that inspires all of us. I have designed more than one storefront and have been inspired by the incredible sets sometimes without even realizing it. Sally’s store is, to me, one of the most gorgeous layouts I’ve seen – all that white and green and glass is cool and crisp, yet still inviting. I am dying to help a friend who owns a small health food store redo the shop with a look like this!

The conservatory, the kitchen, the garden, every aspect of this impeccably designed home is a clue to the Owens women history and their unique gifts. I think many witches have grown up watching this movie and aspiring to be like the beautiful, powerful, yet often achingly normal women featured in it.

So a toast, ladies: raise your margarita glass to incredible gals who embrace their magick and merrily dance naked under a Midsummer full moon (and while we’re at it, can we blame my blond roots on some sort of family curse?)

16 thoughts on “Practical Magic Blog Party

  1. Oh, I’m so sorry you missed it. 😦 I missed it last year. There’s always next year, though. 🙂

    Thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind comments.

    Blessed be,
    Bird

  2. I just watched Practical Magic too (for the first time in years). It’s so funny and romantic but I agree, the best thing about the movie is the set. What I’d give to live in that house. 😀

  3. You haven’t missed it, your broomstick was just running late, LOL, mines always doing that.
    I’d still love to read your post on a practical magic inspired book of shadows if you do it, sounds brilliant.

    Agree with you about the sets in the film they are fantastic, love the conservatory and the house. The shop looks nice in the film and I love Sally’s outfit in that, everything matches so perfectly, probably a bit too perfect for me, I like cubby holes and old shelves and places to explore.

    frith
    J x

  4. I love Practical Magic!! The set is extraordinary and the house is fantabulous! I would love to live in that house. Maybe I’ll make my own amas veritas spell so that love can find me. But in my case I want the guy to have two green eyes! 🙂

    Also, your idea on posting about practical magick tips and a Practical Magic inspired Book of Shadows is awesome. I’m definitely interested in reading what you have to say on this.

Leave a Reply

