Making Magick: Cleansing Potpourri

Before Imbolc sets in and the thrill of a new year has worn off, try out this cleansing ritual and a new twist on a charm bag in your home!Making Magick: Cleansing Potpourri by The Witch of Howling Creek

Sit at your altar or a very clean, uncluttered table with a large mason jar or Ziploc bag and the following:

½ cup dried lavender heads
½ cup dried rosemary needles
¼ cup chopped dried lemon peel
Pinch of sea salt
6 drops lavender or rosemary essential oil

Mix all ingredients together and store in tightly closed jar or bag for two weeks, stirring daily.

When the potpourri is ready to be used, take a nice, long hot bath with loads of white, fluffy bubbles. (This part is very important.) After all, if you’re going to be cleansing your home, you ought to be squeaky clean too.

Open the front and back doors and sweep the entire house straight through, brushing all the dust and grime out (if it is still the dead of winter where you are, just sweep it into a dustpan. :D)

Place a small bowl of your purifying potpourri on at least one window sill in each room in the house and enjoy the sweet, fresh smell of the new year!


3 thoughts on “Making Magick: Cleansing Potpourri

  1. I LOVE this! And I have everything but the limon! Going to the store and get one. I grow everything well not the limons, though I do need to find a new place to buy the oils. Lavender is one of my favorites it smells so clean.

  2. I just wanted to say that I love your site! I always stop in and read up on your articles, and they always give me a lot of great ideas. Keep up the great work you do, because your readers really appreciate it!

  3. never have really made potpurri. But, this post has inspired me….SO if I can manage to gather up the small amount of money it will cost me to gather the supplies….I WILL! lol Blessed Be!

Leave a comment